Work in progress.

I’ve been struggling with time management SO HARD. With being back to work for the last month, I find that everything else gets put on the back burner. I am so burnt out and exhausted after work, that I can’t fathom anything else. Am I the only person that struggles with this?! How do you working moms and dads handle this?

I’ve been wanting to follow a meal prep schedule, gym schedule, etc., but by the time I get home, I don’t want to leave again, put my daughter in the gym child care, and work out. I’ve been going to cardio drumming once a week, and I’m loving it. I feel so good afterwards. I know that self-care is important, but I’m beating myself up so much for being away from my kids and my family so often. This also includes this blog… when I first started, it was easy to write my posts during the day while everyone was at work and school. Now, I feel guilty putting my nose in the computer or my phone to write. Ya’ll I really need this blog, it helps me get my thoughts together. It helps get my emotions in check, but why do I feel like a complete jerk for wanting to take 15-20 minutes to do it? This guilt is eating me alive. I remember feeling this way after going back to work after LJ was born and I chalked it up to postpartum depression, but honestly… it’s just depression and anxiety in general.

My emotions have been totally insane. I feel like a psychopath most days. This past Thursday was my day off, from the moment I woke up I was crying and yelling and being completely inconsolable. Nothing that my husband said or did was right. I basically jumped down his throat no matter what he said. I’ve been super sensitive and my hormones are on a ridiculous roller coaster. To add to this craziness, I start my period just about every week and a half… whew, talk about being on a roller coaster of emotions.

I’ve seen so much about people struggling emotionally and mentally. Some days it’s terrifying how much my emotions and mental well-being can be so up and down. I am so thankful that my doctor required me to attend counseling sessions prior to my surgery, so that I have some coping methods to go through and focus on. I am also, extremely thankful for my husband and kids who consistently support me regardless of my mood. I have people who check on me regularly and an amazing group of cheerleaders who are vocal about their support of what I’m doing. So many people, that I never would have expected, have reached out since the beginning of this, and they are probably some of my biggest cheerleaders.

As June comes to a close, I know that I need to get better. I need to be a better planner, more organized, and more intentional with the path I’m choosing. I’m happy with my stats for my weight loss, not ecstatic, but happy. I have a lot more energy, I’m sleeping better, I feel physically capable to do more things with less resistance. I am starting to step out of my comfort zone. Bring on July!

❤️C

One thought on “Work in progress.

  1. Chalcye, I’m glad you posted that you posted regardless of FB blocking it. I had to dig a little but got to your blog. You’re doing great! Amazing really! I know a lot of hormone “stuff” is stored in fat cells so some of your roller coaster snd frequent periods could be from your weight loss. Hang in there..knowing it will continue to get better. So glad that you had some pre surgery counseling to help you cope. Do they have options for post surgery? Being a full time employee as well as a full time wife and mom is alot without added stress so do what you need to do and every day strive for the best balance you can manage that particular day and that particular moment. It will all shake out over time! XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment